top of page

Holy Orders/Vocations

There is a ‘need for priests to witness the infinite mercy of God with a life totally ‘conquered’ by Christ, and for them to learn this in the years of their formation in the seminaries.’

— Pope Benedict XVI, the general audience in Castel Gandolfo, August 19, 2009

Anyone interested in pursuing a religious vocation is very welcome to have some conversations with one or more of our priests. Simply contact  by E-Mail or call your parish at the numbers list below to make an appointment.

The Diocese of Norwich’s website, , also has some useful information about choosing a religious vocation.

More Information on the Sacrament of Holy Orders


The Sacrament of Apostolic Ministry by which the mission entrusted by Christ to his Apostles continues to be exercised in the Church through the laying on of hands. This sacrament has three distinct degrees or ‘orders’: deacon, priest, and bishop. All three confer a permanent, sacramental character” - Catechism of the Catholic Church, 536

The whole Church is a priestly people. Through Baptism all the faithful share in the priesthood of Christ. This participation is called the ‘common priesthood of the faithful.’ Based on this common priesthood and ordered to its service, there exists another participation in the mission of Christ: the ministry conferred by the sacrament of Holy Orders, where the task is to serve in the name and in the person of Christ the Head in the midst of the community” (Catechism, 1591).

Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the messianic mission of Christ continues in His Church until the end of time. The three degrees of this one sacrament

  • the deaconate (deacon)

  • the presbyterate (priesthood)

  • and the episcopate (bishop)

are a participation in the apostolic offices of teaching, sanctifying, and governing given by the Lord Jesus to the Twelve. In Roman law, the word “order” designated a group or civil body within society, and “ordination” means incorporation into an “order.”

A baptized man is ordained into one of these three Orders by a prayer of consecration and the laying on of hands by a true bishop in apostolic succession, and this liturgical action of Christ and the Church confers on the one ordained the sacred power to preach the Word of God and administer the other sacraments, according to the station of each Order.

By their consecration, bishops and priests are configured to the Lord Jesus in such a way that they can act in His Person in the sacred liturgy and stand in the Person of Christ, Head and Bridegroom of the Church. The ministerial priesthood has the task of representing Christ the Head of the Church before the whole assembly and also of acting in the name of the whole Church when offering to God the prayer of the Church. Deacons are ordained to a ministry of service, but not to the priesthood. Deacons assist bishops and priests in the celebration of the sacred mysteries, in works of charity, in blessing marriages, in the proclamation of the Gospel, in administering baptism, and in presiding over funerals.

O Virgin Mary, Mother of Jesus and Mother of the Church,
to you we commend our young people,
in particular those called to closely follow your Son.
You know the difficulties, the struggles,
the obstacles they must face.
Assist them to answer “yes” to the divine call,
as you did at the invitation of the angel.
Draw them near to your heart so that they can
understand the beauty and the joy that awaits them
when the Lord Jesus calls them into His intimacy,
to be witness of His love in the world.

bottom of page